Bahasa Inggeris SPM : Paper 1 Section B (Continuous Writing) (5)

Bahasa Inggeris SPM : Paper 1 Section B (Continuous Writing) (5)

9. NARRATIVE

Write about an incident in which you acted irresponsibly.

It was a bright Saturday morning and I was sitting at my computer happily clicking away at my favourite computer game, when I heard my mother calling me urgently. Reluctantly, I paused the game to find out what she wanted. She complained of having a migraine, so she wanted to rest. She handed me RM550 and asked me to bank the money in, as she had just issued a few cheques the previous day. My face turned sour. I had missed playing at the computer for the past two weeks because of my monthly tests. Going on this errand would mean not being able to continue my game as I had Biology tuition in two hours’ time.

“You have to take Eileen along. You know noisy she can be and really need to rest,” Mum told me.

What? Did I also have to take my pesky younger sister along? I started to protest, but a stern look from my mother shut me up. I snatched the money and her bankbook quickly, and went out of the house with Eileen.

I was muttering under my breath all the way to the bank. As I approached the bank, I saw some friends and decided to stop and chat with them. After all, it would only take minutes but this soon lengthened into thirty minutes.

Eileen was bored with all the chatting and left my side. I was too engrossed with conversing with friends to notice her missing until a loud screech of brakes made me turn my head.

What I saw made my blood freeze. Eileen was standing in the middle of the busy road, with a car just an inch or two away from her. She got such a fright that she fell down and started crying.

By now, many vehicles had stopped and there was a lot of commotion. I rushed over to Eileen and picked her up. One driver rolled down his window and rudely shouted, “Hey, have enough sense not to let a child out alone in such busy traffic! What an irresponsible girl you are!”

I felt tears stinging my eyelids and tried to blink them away, but deep inside, I knew I deserved such a harsh reprimand.

Eileen had grazed her knee when she fell. I took her to a nearby pharmacy to get some Dettol and band – aid. By the time I finished treating her injury, the bank had already closed. I knew I was going to be in deep trouble, because my mother had stressed the importance of banking in the money that day. Boy, did I get a dose of my mother’s sharp tongue.

“Lydia, I’m most disappointed with you. I thought you were more responsible than that. Not only have you not banked in the money as I asked, but Eileen got hurt under your care. I’ll have to ground you for two weeks.”

On Monday, my mother received word that two of her cheques had bounced so she had to pay some fines. I was grounded for another week, but being grounded was nothing compared to the remorse I felt at behaving so irresponsibly, and nearby causing a tragedy in my family.

……………………………………………………………….

 

This entry was posted in English Essay. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment